Brookhurst Primary School
A place to think and grow

Our governors

Who are the governors?

All governors are volunteers who work together for the benefit of the school. They are:

  1. Parents elected by other parents with children at the school;
  2. The headteacher;
  3. Teachers elected by other teachers;
  4. Non-teaching staff elected by other non-teaching staff;
  5. People appointed by the local education authority;
  6. People chosen by governors from the local community.

Please see below for a full list of the present governors and their current responsibilities.

What do governors do?

Our job for the school is to

  1. Promote high standards of educational attainment;
  2. Set targets for pupil achievement;
  3. Take responsibility for strategic planning;
  4. Manage the school’s budget , including deciding how many staff will work there and their pay;
  5. Ensure that the curriculum is balanced and broadly based, in particular that the National Curriculum and religious education are taught, and report on pupils’ achievement in National Curriculum assessments and examination results;
  6. Participate in the appointment of senior staff (including appointing the head teacher) and regulate staff conduct and discipline; and
  7. Draw up a post-OFSTED action plan after an inspection by the Office for Standards in Education.

The governors at Brookhurst meet regularly as a whole body, but fulfil many of their responsibilities through sub committees.

These sub committees are:

  1. Performance and Standards Committee
  2. Resource Management Committee
  3. Each sub committee meets at least once a term and works on areas that fall under their remit. They make recommendations to the governing body which decides on any necessary actions.

If you wish to talk to someone…

… the first point of contact is the class teacher. If you want to take matters further, you can make an appointment to see Mr Hughes or Miss Stanton via the school office.

Minutes of governor meetings are available from the office. Any confidential matters that may be discussed at governor meetings are not made public for obvious reasons.

Policies and Guidelines Handbook: You can see a copy of any/all of our policies by contacting the school office.

Although certain elements are governed by legislation and the Local Education Authority, the Policies are specific to Brookhurst.

Also available is the School Development Plan (SDP), a rolling three-year programme of actions aimed at the progressive development and improvement of the school.

Brookhurst Governors

Governor Name Appointment

Start – End

Committee Subject Link
Class Link
Parent Governors (6)
Mrs Karen Mothersdale 31/05/2012 – 30/05/2020 Performance & Standards Maths 4S
Mrs Leah Harper 12/06/2012 – 11/06/2016 Not Yet Agreed
Ms Sara Maxwell 25/01/2016 – 24/01/2020 Performance & Standards SEND 1C
Mrs Viki McNulty 20/04/2016 – 19/04/2020 Resources Safeguarding 2AH
Mr Kully Gill 10/10/2016 – 09/10/2020 Not Yet Agreed
Mrs Sarah Gurney 10/10/2016 – 09/10/2020 Resources  Finance
Mrs Denise Luckhurst 01/09/2013 – 08/05/2017
Mrs Katherine Snell 31/05/2012 – 25/04/2016
Mr Daniel Abbotts 07/11/2013 – 11/07/2016
Mrs Claudia Nicoll 07/11/2013 – 22/07/2016
Mrs Lynda LeLong 28/04/2014 – 11/07/2016
Mrs Sara White 28/01/2012 – 25/04/2016
LA Governor (Council Appt) (1)
Mr Bill Gifford 03/09/2010 – 02/09/2018 Resources
Co-opted Governors (7)
Mr Joe Cannon 01/04/2013 – 30/03/2017 Chair of Governors

Performance & Standards / Resources

Mr Paul McKenzie 13/12/2015 – 12/12/2019 Performance  & Standards / Resources  5B
Mrs Sally Connell 01/06/2015 – 01/04/2020 Resources
Mr Rob Wesson 23/09/2013 – 22/09/2017 Chair of Resources  Health & Safety  2W
 Ms Lesley Coles  15/09/2010 – 14/09/2018 Performance & Standards  Early Years  FAU FPP
 Mr Will Gimes  12/09/2016 – 19/09/2020 Performance  & Standards
 Mrs Ali Foster  05/12/2016 – 04/12/2010  Performance & Standards
Staff (1)
 Mrs Linda Wythe  11/07/2014 – 11/07/2018 Performance  & Standards
Associate Governor
 Mr Jim Sinnott  29/03/2009 – 29/03 2013  No Voting Rights
Head Teacher (1)
Ms Angela Stanton Headteacher
Mrs Emma Moon Clerk to the Governing Body


Register of Business Interests for the Governing Body

Jo Cannon – none

Sally Connell – none

Lesley Coles – none

Bill Gifford – County & District Councillor

Denise Luckhurst – none

Will Gimes – none

Paul McKenzie – none

Karen Mothersdale – none

James Sinnott – none

Sarah Gurney – none

Kully Gill – New Governor – none

Angela Stanton – none

Rob Wesson – On Centre Surveys – land building surveys for WCC

Sara Maxwell – ESP Design Management (Interior Design)

Linda Wythe – none

Viki McNulty – none

Ali Foster – New Governor – not yet obtained

Click here to see –  Register of Business Interests

Click here to see – Instrument of Governance

Click here to see  –  Terms of Reference Sept 2016



Scheduled meeting dates:





Governing Body Members

Joe Cannon (Chair) 4/4

Denise Luckhurst 4/4

Katherine Snell 4/4

Lynda LeLong 4/4

Karen Mothersdale 4/4

Lesley Coles 4/4

Angela Stanton (HT) 3/4

Rob Wesson 4/4

Sara White 3/3 (left GB)

Bill Gifford 4/4

Paul McKenzie 4/4

Sally Connell 3/4

Linda Wythe 4/4

Dan Abbots 4/4

Claudia Nicoll 4/4



Scheduled Meeting Dates:




Resources Committee Members

Angela Stanton (HT) 3/3

Joe Cannon 3/3

Rob Wesson 3/3

Claudia Nicoll 2/3

Bill Gifford 2/3

Sally Connell 3/3

Paul McKenzie 1/3

Katherine Snell 2/3

Sara White 2/2 (left GB)

Dan Abbots 1/3

Sara Bond 1/1 (new Governor)



Scheduled Meeting Dates:



Resources Committee Members

Angela Stanton (HT) 2/2

Joe Cannon 1/2

Denise Luckhurst 2/2

Paul McKenzie 0/2

Karen Mothersdale 1/2

Linda Wythe 2/2

Lynda LeLong 2/2

Dan Abbots 1/3

Lesley Coles 1/2